top of page
  • Zoe Harmon

Procrastination 1/6

Updated: Apr 3, 2020

Procrastination. We are all guilty of it and if you say you're not, well then you're just lying. I have been home now almost two weeks and have been putting off doing any work for reasons I could not work out. It's not that I don't want to do the work, quite the opposite actually; but when it has come down to me actually creating anything which requires thought, my brain just shuts off, and finds the most ridiculous things to be distracted by.


Being honest, I have even left this last minute due to, guess what? That's right.. procrastination!


So I'm sat here, trying hard to think of where to start, and even harder trying not to procrastinate, when the thought hit me... what is making me procrastinate???




So I literally just typed into google, "why do we procrastinate" and found an interesting and informative video by American tv host, author and motivational speaker: Mel Robbins; breaking down the simple science behind procrastination.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFu_58AnT0g

In the video, Robbins explains how procrastination, in fact has little to nothing to do with laziness or even the work itself, but simply due to stress. Robbins goes on to explain how procrastination is merely a "form of stress relief", just a coping mechanism we use to bury our head in the sand when life gets too much.


Thinking back to all the times I find myself procrastinating, it can always be linked to me being stressed about various things that are happening in my life and around me. Robbin's simply describes this feeling as your brain saying "I need a break". Procrastination is not the issue; stress is.

The video puts a strong emphasis on ways to tackle procrastination. Robbin's first tip is to forgive yourself; forgive yourself for not saving your money, forgive yourself for not going to your friends birthday, forgive yourself for leaving all your work until last minute. It is all about self awareness. The trigger is stress and the response is procrastination. As you become triggered by stress, the habit is to procrastinate. Which is Robbins second piece of advice in tackling procrastination; changing the habit.

Following from forgiving herself but saying "you've done the best you can, you're gonna do a little bit today". She does this using the 'Five second rule'; in which you count down from five and just start your work, initially only for 5 minutes. Studies have shown that through this method, 80% of people will continue doing work. This change in habit, Robbins calls a 'starting ritual'.


This lead my research onto the psychology and science behind 'Starting rituals'' and how they can be used.




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page